Strawberry Lemonade Mojito

This springtime twist on the classic mojito is made with equal parts refreshment and relief and is best enjoyed at the conclusion of a long week or a terrific weekend.

Aren’t farmer’s markets fantastic spectacles?  The farmer’s markets here have just opened for the year, and my parents and I made the rounds at a couple of them this past weekend.  My dad, especially, really got in the spirit by going to the farmer’s market dressed as… a farmer.  Yep, he was sporting his denim overalls, straw hat, and he had his sleeves rolled up to show off his farmer’s tan.  It was grand.  I definitely did take a picture of him in his farmer outfit holding all of our market spoils.  Said photograph may be posted here at a later date for your enjoyment.

Besides the aforementioned sight of my dear papa in traditional farmland attire, my mom and I stocked up all manner of terrific herbs to enjoy for the coming summer season.  I invested $12 in a thornless blackberry bush which I am sincerely hoping the deer will not take a liking to, and we scored a variety of herbs with interesting sounding names.  My favorite is the lemon verbena plant that I bought.  If the name “lemon verbena” sounds familiar, it’s probably because it’s a popular scent for lotions.  Sounds promising, yes?  I could not wait to use it, so I didn’t wait and I went ahead and used it.

Everyone loves a good mojito in the summer time, but seeing as we’d already had a bit of a lime extravaganza last weekend, I chose to go with lemon instead.  That said, it appears that Lemon-palooza has struck again.  My apologies, I thought it had passed, and I was wrong.  Anyhow, lemon and lemon verbena seemed like an obvious match.  To take things a step further, I employed some of the fresh strawberry puree I had leftover from additional splendid adventures with Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home.  Not only does the addition of strawberry give this cocktail an amazing fresh flavor, it also looks very pretty.  So, by all means, feel free to get fancy and share this wee treasure with all of your pals on a sunny afternoon on the patio, for that’s what I had in mind while thinking of/making/drinking it!

Strawberry Lemonade Mojito

Adapted from $40 a Day on Food Network

Makes 1 drink

Ingredients:

6 lemon verbena leaves

2 slices of 1 large lemon or 1/2 small lemon

2 Tbs. strawberry puree

3/4 cup club soda

2 oz. rum

2 Tbs. simple syrup

1 cup cubed ice

Equipment:

1 shaker

1 muddler or wooden spoon

1 tall glass

1 knife

1 cutting board

1 spoon

In a shaker, muddle together the lemon verbena leaves and lemon slices.  Muddle until both are well crushed.  Add the simple syrup, rum, and about 1/3 cup ice.  Give it a good shake.  Drain the liquid into the tall glass.  Add the remainder of the ice, then pour club soda over the ice.  Gently stir the club soda and alcohol mixture together.  Use a spoon to gently pour the strawberry puree over the ice on the top of the glass.  Garnish with a slice of lemon and serve with a straw.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

